Bruce Marsh

Painting: Images and Thoughts.

CW2-03Sm“California Weeds”  Oil  18″ X 18″  Feb 3, 2014

Finally finished. I think. I’m very pleased with the vertical ‘fault’ running down the middle…a bit of ambiguity to disrupt this post card a bit.

Here’s a close detail which shows how the color is applied and splashed around. Really a bit out of control I’d say! I am so pleased with my new prime 20mm lens…..sharp as a tack! Note the weave of the canvas showing in this detail, which was simply cropped from the image above.

I got a Nikon camera
I love to take a photograph
So Mama, don’t take my Kodachrome away

CW2-03det

Below is the almost finished version from yesterday…..

CW2-02Sm

So almost getting this done. It began to move well today, working the whole surface with juicier paint, and finding the idea of emphasizing the split down the middle. A nice fault line I think, which will keep the whole a bit unsettled in the eye. Apropos of California, and it  was painted near the San Andreas fault. I still need to solve the greens, probably by expanding the hues…as the rocks now have a fairly broad hue range. Perhaps think about reducing the value contrast also…but the red blacks are so punchy and tempting to keep. I worry that my painting is getting too close to cooking.

2 Responses to “California Weeds.. done”

  1. Anonymous

    GREAT… Those GreenGrowies are “Super Native Plants” 🙂 where I come from “Weeds” are plants out of place:) They are great California native plants… Make them come alive…. BUDDY…. Keep that paint movin!

    Reply
    • brucemarsh

      I didn’t know what they are…but “weeds’ was meant as a touch of sarcasm…”Weeds” suggests, to me, that some planted are somehow better than others…like the phrase “trashfish”. I kinda think everything living is a bit special…and elegant.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

